Day full of Dutch!

Hi (:

Sunday the 5th of March was a day full of Dutch. In the morning I walked up to the station, to take a train to London. I needed to go by bus as well as Redhill station was out of order…

I met with my Dutch friend, Aimee, by London Bridge. Together we walked all around London. We had lunch at Subway by the Tower of London because I had a discount there. (:

Afterwards we went to Victoria station, where is a Dutch shop called the Hema. They sell my favourite liquorish and cookies, bokkenpootjes. I really enjoyed eating my (unhealthy) Dutch food!

At 2 pm it was time to make our way to the Dutch au pair meeting. This meeting was organised by TravelActive, my Dutch agency. All Dutch Au Pairs in England came there to meet.

We had a drink at Ye Olde Cock Tavern, which is a typical English bruin bar.

When we all found a place upstairs, it was time for an introducing round. We said our name, where we live and for how long are we staying. When we finished all this everyone started talking in little groups.

After a while I had a headache and I think it was because of too many Dutch people talking in Dutch around me, I am not used to it anymore!

It was nice and good to hear all the stories from the different host families. I recognised loads of stories. For example, the cars that stop when you want to cross the road with your host children or the candy in my room (:

After two hours most of the au pairs went back home. Aimee and I had heard about a Dutch restaurant close to the café where we were drinking. We asked a few au pairs if they wanted to join us. At the end, we had a super nice Dutch dinner with five other Dutch girls, a German and an Austrian.

The restaurant My old Dutch was amazing, their pancakes with ice cream and raspberries on the top where delicious.

They had Dutch snacks: bitterballen, kaasballen and even Grolsh beer. Normally I don’t eat bitterballen that often so I think they are just okay, but at that moment I enjoyed eating them so much!

After all this nice food and talks, it was time to go. Before we left, we made a whatsapp group to meet again. We might celebrate Koningsdag, a Dutch national party, together in a Dutch bar in China Town (:

I knew that one of my friends in Redhill, was in London. Luckily we could travel back together.

The red busses are nice, but when you need to travel for 20 minutes in them it is quite a challenge.

It was a super nice day where I met loads of new nice people!

Loads of Love,

Evelien

Reacties

Reacties

Marja

Hoi Evelien,
Nou ik lees steeds je verhalen en geloof dat je wel hele leuke mensen hebt ontmoet!!Heel erg fijn zeg!Gezellig ook!!Bij jullie ook al wat voorjaarsweer?
Veel plezier en werk ze daar!!xxx

Au Pair Team - Travel Active

Hoi Evelien,

wat leuk om jouw kant van de meeting te lezen. Ik vond het heel gezellig om jullie allemaal nog eens te zien en jullie verhalen te horen. :)

Geniet ervan.

Groetjes Wies

PS. Ben een beetje jaloers dat je nog in Engeland bent.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active